beauty, Featured

I Got My Hair Cut! + How I Style It

After debating with myself for months now, I finally bit the bullet and got my hair cut! ….SHORT!

I figured it was time for a change after feeling weighed down by my hair. My hair felt like it had no life, I was constantly putting it in a ponytail or bun, and was just constantly annoyed by it. As much as I love having long, healthy hair, I just needed something different. AND I’M SO HAPPY I DID IT!

Snapchat-678290257_Fotor

20170806_120956_Fotor

I got my hair cut this length two years ago, and loved it, but I feel like I am even more in love this time round. I can’t stop taking selfies, and running my fingers through it. It’s so healthy, and fresh. Safe to say.. I’m obsessed! (Which is always a good thing after sitting in the hairdressers chair)

I wanted to give you an insight as to how I’ll be styling my new hair.. mainly for work & every day wear. So here we go!

After washing, conditioning, protecting and letting my hair dry, I want to scream because my natural hair is so frizzy and curly! So I like to take my straightener and run it through the hair at the nape of my neck, and the hair framing my face, from root to tip. This allows me to straighten out my cowlicks, and have a more manageable base to work with.

I then pin up the top half of my hair, split the bottom section in half, and start working from the front to the back of my head, on each side. I take my 25mm curling wand, and start working the magic. I like to curl the hair closest to my face, AWAY from my face. And from there, changing the direction of the curl while working my way back. Changing directions of the curls allows for a more natural look, and doesn’t let the curls get stuck on each other (I hate when my hair is one big curl!) I take down the top half of my hair, and do the exact same method of curling. Once my hair is all curled and cooled down, i run my fingers through then spritz some hairspray to hold the curl. I’m very fortunate that my curls stay in place until I wash my hair next, which I do every 2 days.

Products I use on my hair in order:

  1. Whole Blends Argan Oil & Cranberry Shampoo & Conditioner
  2. TresemmeΒ 7-Day Smooth Heat Activated Treatment
  3. NuMe Silhouette Hair Straightener
  4. NuMe Lustrum Set – 25mm wand
  5. Tresemme Ultra Fine Mist Hair Spray

20170806_134812_Fotor

If you’re thinking about getting your hair cut, you should definitely do it! Even if you take a couple inches off to begin with, and slowly work your way shorter. It’s all baby steps to see what you like best! But I can definitely say it’s given me a new boost of confidence in myself, and I’m so excited to do cute hairstyles now πŸ™‚

Lots of love,
Courtney x
7 thoughts on “I Got My Hair Cut! + How I Style It”

  1. I’m always terrified to get my hair cut! I won’t let them take more than one inch off at a time! I think after a while having such long hair will start to get annoying though and I’ll probably cut it at some point.

    Like

    1. This reminds me of when I was in high school and I used to go to the hairdressers and come out almost in tears because they took too much off my hair! hahaha I love this length because you can still do so much with it πŸ™‚ x

      Like

  2. It looks gorgeous!! I got my hair cut last year for charity and loved it too, really scary though. Literally though, it looks stunning! You suit it so much xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

